Connecting the dots

Here are a few of the organizations and resources we’ve found most useful:

On the DR Congo

Karen Fung’s DRC links page: http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/africa/congok/congoknews.html
Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/doc?t=africa&c=congo
International Crisis Group http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=1174&1=1
IRIN (Integrated Regional Information Networks), UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs http://www.irinnews.org/Africa-Country.aspx?Country=CG
Pambazuka News http://www.pambazuka.org/en/
PAN (Priority Africa Network) http://www.priorityafricanetwork.org
TransAfrica Forum http://www.transafricaforum.org/
Two interviews with Ernest Wamba dia Wamba here and here.

Map

http://www.africanwireless.com/LgCongoMap.jpg

On Struggles for Land and Housing

Abahlali baseMjondolo – Durban’s Shackdweller Movement http://www.abahlali.org
A Pygmy Conference in the Rain Forest http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/from_our_own_correspondent/6646115.stm
Homes not Jails http://www.homesnotjails.org/

On Anti-war/Anti-nuclear Work

Judgement of the International Peoples’ Tribunal on the Dropping of Atomic Bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki (July 2007) http://www.k3.dion.ne.jp/~a-bomb/Judgment-07-7-16.pdf
Nevada Desert Experience http://www.nevadadesertexperience.org
Nihon Hidankyo, Japan Federation of A- and H-Bomb Sufferers Organizations http://www.ne.jp/asahi/hidankyo/nihon/rn_page/english/index_english/index_english.html
Transcend http://www.transcend.org/
Tri-Valley CARES http://www.trivalleycares.org
United for Peace and Justice http://www.unitedforpeace.org/
Voices of Hibakusha http://www.inicom.com/hibakusha/
Western States Legal Foundation http://www.wslfweb.org/

On Haiti

Haiti Action Committee http://www.haitiaction.net
Haiti Justice Blog http://www.haitijustice.typepad.com/
Partners in Health http://www.pih.org/home.html
“The Power of History: Haiti,” by Mumia Abu-Jamal

On Struggles for Justice by People of Color
in the United States

Peoples’ Hurricane Fund and Oversight Coalition http://www.peopleshurricane.org/
The Mobilization to Free Mumia Abu Jamal http://www.freemumia.org/
Southern Poverty Law Center http://www.splcenter.org/index.jsp

On Native Americans

Leonard Peltier Defense Committee http://www.leonardpeltier.net/newsroom.htm
Native American Authors, Internet Public library http://www.ipl.org/div/natam/
Tewa Women United http://www.tewawomenunited.org
Tsi-Akim Maidu Tribe http://tsi-akim.org/
Winnemem Wintu tribe Click here.

On Prisons and Prisoners

Free the San Francisco Eight http://www.freethesf8.org/
Osborne Association http://osborneny.org/index.html
Prison Radio http://www.prisonradio.org/

On Women

Global Fund for Women http://www.globalfundforwomen.org/cms/index.php

On Youth

The Algebra Project http://www.algebra.org/
Roots & Shoots http://www.rootsandshoots.org

And More…

Partners In Health http://www.pih.org/home.html
University of KMT Press http://www.ukmtpress.com/index.html

Visit our library at Library Thing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>